My mom wishes to bury me for college financially. Please help!

<p>First of all, BG info:</p>

<p>My dad died last November in a car crash. We have no income but my mom received about 500k from life insurance and she gets 1.5k a month for me and another 1.5k a month for my brother. Attorney fees and such have cost about 10k or so. Mom is not working right now.</p>

<p>Ok, right now I plan to attend Penn. As of this moment, Parental Contribution is around 12k and my contribution is about 2.8k in work study. I am a full IB student with a heavy courseload and I do not have a job at the moment because it used to be my mom's business before she stopped working due to dad's death. I plan to work over the summer and throughout the school year to contribute to my schooling.</p>

<p>However, my mom simply does not want to pay for anything. She says there are plenty of people who are successful without college, and those that do take out loans. Therefore she says I should "take out loans just like everyone else" so she wants to shove the whole bill to me and just have me take out a 14k student loan.</p>

<p>Now, there is no way I can afford that. What are the legal issues surrounding this? I want to put my 200 deposit in to Penn but mom was against me doing it at first because she didn't want to be locked in with a bad package. However, she doesn't want to pay for ANYTHING now and I don't have 200 dollars to spend for the deposit, and the financial aid department said they would take my app to committee on Monday (my mom had been talking with the FinAid department).</p>

<p>Mom and I got into a huge fight and now she refuses to talk to me until Monday (she's on vacation right now) after she speaks with Financial Aid again, and I fear that she is going to make this situation very bad for me financially.</p>

<p>What can I do to avoid getting swamped??</p>

<p>legendofmax,