My parents are so disappointed in me..

<p>I am a very high achieving student (2300+ SAT, high rank, excellent excellent EC, etc) but my parents are very disappointed in the type of person i am turning out to be.</p>

<p>It all started when i was around 13 when I asked my parents if they would rather me be a useful (the type of person running wall street, raiding and sacking corporations for $$ at the expense of others losing their jobs) person or a kind person (the type who cares after parents, donates money, and keeps puppy dogs). My dad said a useful person.</p>

<p>Four years later, my parents are regretting their words as i have become a very very scary person with superb intellect in my immediate surroundings. My parents often just give into my demands because they know that I am almost certain to win arguments and they will only win by yelling at me, disregarding the rationale behind argumentation. I am sure that my parents sometimes talk at night when they think i am asleep and are worried about me. Let me make it known that my demands are not too unreasonable and that i am from an relatively well off upper middle class family.</p>

<p>My question is, would you have your kid rather be a useful person or a kind person? Obviously both would be optimal but that is not an option in this hypothetical scenario (our subject has only enough time and patience to pick one of the options).</p>

<p>
[quote]
I asked my parents if they would rather me be a useful (the type of person running wall street, raiding and sacking corporations for $$ at the expense of others losing their jobs) person

[/quote]
</p>

<p>Where did you ever get the idea that corporate raiders are useful? I define "useful" people as people who make the most of their capabilities to help make the world a better place. And who says that "useful" people can't be kind people?</p>