Should I give up on American universities and settle for a uni in my home country?

(Edits to fix grammatical mistakes)
Yesterday, I posted a Chance Me, writing in detail my stats/ECs/financial situation. I have gotten some useful (but brutally honest, which I appreciate) replies and I realized that I really had overlooked the financial aspect. Basically, my family’s income is about $120,000, I am an international student, and my parents are only willing to pay $20,000 a year at absolute maximum. Before, I had vaguely thought that I would find a solution once I get in. However, now, I know that I have to think about this ASAP because if I don’t, I will get into some colleges but have nowhere to go because of the financial aspect. Today, I asked my mother to have a serious conversation with me on the tuition costs and asked her if there was a way we could afford more, and her answer was a definite no, which I completely understand (I don’t want to put my parents under a lot of financial burden either).
I started looking at some other colleges that are a bit lower in rank but might offer me some merit scholarship, like one particular scholarship at Oberlin College designated for students from Japan. At the same time, I understand that getting merit scholarships from non T-20 schools is still extremely hard.