Stop Asking- I Do Not Want To Have Kids

I know this is a strange topic for a parents forum, but I didn’t know where else to post it. I have been a lurker here this past year and gained a lot of valuable insight. I graduated with a BBA many years and want to change career paths, so I decided to obtain another degree.

I just turned 31 a few months ago and it seems like the questions about children have increased exponentially in the past year. I am male and I can’t imagine how much worse it is for the women out there. I get asked all the time from family members and even people I barely know asking me when I am going to have children. The answer is the same every time- I am not going to have children. I then get asked when and I reply “never”. Many times I get asked “why not?”, “what are you going to do with your life?”, etc. Some people even seem like they are offended that I don’t want to have children.

So to the people who accost others as to why they don’t want to have children- please end the discussion if somebody says they don’t want to have children. Don’t go on and on and ask them why or get offended that they don’t want to have children.

One of those advice columnists has suggested that a good answer to that question or any question you deem none of their business is, “Why would you ask me that?”

Actually, you don’t owe ANY response to such a personal question. You can merely say, “Why would you ask such a personal question? And then move to a less controversial and personal topic, like the weather, wildfires, natural disasters, movies, books, whatever.

Since it isn’t a topic you want to discuss, just don’t engage. Talk about something you WANT to talk about or find someone else to chat with. Selective deafness works.

I’m sorry you have to deal with this question. I think it’s a very rude question.