University of Florida

<p>I'd really like to go to Johns Hopkins University for their Pre-Health program but Financial Aid will probably restrict me. So my next choice is University of Florida (since I am a Florida Resident). Here are some questions I'd be very glad if you guys could answer:
[ol]
[<em>]Is it really the best Florida has to offer?
[</em>]Does it have a Pre-Medicine/Pre-Health program?
[<em>]Any statistics for acceptance rates into Med schools?
[</em>]Seriously a Public Ivy (provides an ivy league education, etc.)?
[<em>]Would I be better off going to JHU and footing the bill of around 30k (since most likely, I'd get like 20k/year out of Financial Aid) ?
[</em>]Anybody gone/going to University of Florida?
[/ol]</p>

<p>That's all...for now (?),
ansar :)</p>

<p>I am from FL as well.
1. Yes, absolutely
2. No idea
3. Not sure, yet don't expect any fabulous results
4. Nope...it was just names the number 1 party school in the nation by princeton review. If you want to live/work in FL all your life then its fine, yet outside FL its reputation is nonexistent.
5. IMO, absolutely
6. Lot of Friends</p>

<ol>
<li>It's on par with Miami, in general. Though FSU is also quite good. (Rollins and New School of Florida don't suit you at all). In fact, UMiami premed is great so look into that. Bright Futures will give you 100% average tuition there.</li>
<li>Yes</li>
<li>I don't have any but someone else can look them up for you</li>
<li>Yes. You know, if a school is a 4-year there's nothing stopping you from simply taking upper-level and graduate courses earlier if you want a rigorous education. If by Ivy you mean small class sizes and good professors, yes, the classes are small, and professors are good and bad at all schools so that's a silly reason to choose an undergrad college. I personally didn't care to be in a premed course with the same people over and over again (worse than high school!) so class size didn't matter to me.</li>
<li>That's up to you.</li>